2022 Annual Conference Wrap-Up

This year, NCIL hosted our first hybrid conference, which included over 35 hours of content spread out over seven days.

In addition to onsite participation, the 2022 Annual Conference on Independent Living included livestreams, recordings, and virtual components. Virtual content will be available for all registrants through the end of 2022.

We had approximately 400 in-person participants and 300 virtual participants. First-time attendees comprised 55% according to evaluation data. Seventy-five percent of respondents evaluated the experience as good, very good, or excellent.

The excitement of reuniting as a community was on display throughout the event and we were thrilled to see so many new faces.

NCIL thanks our dedicated members, volunteers, staff and board members, presenters, speakers, exhibitors, advertisers, sponsors, and all conference participants for creating a truly memorable conference experience. We are especially thankful for the members who scheduled and met with elected officials to advocate for Independent Living priorities. Together, we will create a world in which people with disabilities are truly valued equally and participate fully.


We are very happy to announce that the pictures from NCIL’s 2022 Annual Conference on Independent Living are now available on Flickr.

If you would like a specific photo added to the captioned collection, please provide a description of photo in the comments or email [email protected] with the link and a description. You can comment on photos using a Flickr / Yahoo account.

Election Results

NCIL thanks the outgoing board and welcomes new and returning board members:

  • Vice President – Jeff Hughes
  • Secretary – Jason Beloungy
  • Diversity Chair – Larissa Martin
  • Member at large – Theo Braddy, Thomas Earle, Amy Tweedle
  • Region 2 Representative – Aaron Baier
  • Region 3 Representative – Karen Michalski-Karney
  • Region 4 Representative – Marty Musser
  • Region 6 Representative – Samantha Moreno
  • Region 8 Representative – Joel Peden
  • Region 10 Representative – Kimberly Meck


Each year NCIL uses the Awards Banquet to recognize and thank advocates for their outstanding work during the past year. We strive to select and honor individuals that are not often awarded on a national stage. The Awards Banquet is truly a special event and we offer our deepest appreciation for this year’s winners, listed below.

  • President’s Award: Lou Ann Kibbee
  • Frank Harkin Memorial Award: Senator Bob Casey
  • Max Starkloff Lifetime Achievement Award: Kelly Buckland
  • Corey Rowley National Advocacy Award: Mark and Jan Derry
  • Region 1 Advocacy Award: Peter Johnke, Congressman Jim Langevin
  • Region 2 Advocacy Award: Todd Vaarwerk
  • Region 3 Advocacy Award: Brenda Dasher
  • Region 4 Advocacy Award: ABLE SC
  • Region 5 Advocacy Award: Eric Brown
  • Region 6 Advocacy Award: Lillian DeJean, Veronica Tess Meyers
  • Region 7 Advocacy Award: Greg York
  • Region 8 Advocacy Award: Michael Mayer
  • Region 9 Advocacy Award: Christina Mills
  • Region 10 Advocacy Award: Shelly Emery
  • Champion for Justice Award: Centene Corporation and Elevance Health


NCIL thanks our 2022 Annual Conference Sponsors!

  • Anthem Logo
  • Centene Corporation Logo
  • CareSource Logo
  • Verizon Logo
  • PhRMA Logo
  • AirBNB Logo
  • Waymo Logo
  • Tusk Philanthropies Logo
  • Microsoft Logo
  • Humana Healthy Horizons Logo
  • Christopher and Dana Reeve Foundation Logo
  • Emily's List Logo
  • United Healthcare Logo
  • Disability Resource Center Logo
  • Ability360 Logo

Champion for Justice:

  • Anthem
  • Centene


  • CareSource


  • PhRMA
  • Verizon


  • Waymo
  • Tusk Philanthropies
  • AirBNB


  • Microsoft


  • Humana Healthy Horizons
  • Christopher & Dana Reeve Foundation
  • Emily’s List
  • The Boston Foundation


  • Disability Resource Center
  • United Healthcare
  • Ability360