NCIL Committee Structure

NCIL’s complex structure of Governing Board Committees, Subcommittees, and Task Forces ensures that the tremendous amount of work we accomplish is truly grassroots and consumer controlled. We welcome NCIL members to become involved in the national IL Movement by joining a group that is currently seeking members.

Most NCIL committees, subcommittees, and task forces (from this point forward referred to collectively as “committees”) have monthly calls, although some meet more or less frequently. Many of the committees also communicate via email to stay in touch and work on subcommittee tasks between calls. The required time commitment varies by committee; we recommend you reach out to the committee chair or NCIL staff member if you have questions about the requirements for a specific committee(s).

Accommodations are available to committee members by request. Please contact the Chair or NCIL staff member listed to request an accommodation.

The International Committee is chaired by Doug Toelle.

The Executive Committee is chaired by Kent Crenshaw. Learn more >>

The Finance Committee is chaired by Jeremy Morris and staffed by Rie Terashima. Learn more >>

The Human Resources Committee is chaired by Kim Conner and staffed by Jenny Sichel. Learn more >>

The Annual Conference Subcommittee is chaired by Ann McDaniel and staffed by Jenny Sichel. Learn more >>

The Membership & Nominating Subcommittee is chaired by Charlotte Stewart and staffed by Denise Law. Learn more >>

The Legislative & Advocacy Committee is chaired by Lou Ann Kibbee and staffed by [vacant]. Learn more >>

The ADA / Civil Rights Subcommittee is chaired by Marty Musser and staffed by [vacant]. Learn more >>

The Education & IDEA Subcommittee is co-chaired by Maureen Hollowell and staffed by [vacant]. Learn more >>

The Employment-Social Security Subcommittee is chaired by Christine Fitzgerald and staffed by [vacant]. Learn more >>

The Healthcare / Long Term Services & Supports Subcommittee is chaired by Jeff Hughes and staffed by [vacant]. Learn more >>

The Housing Subcommittee is chaired by Gloria Garton and staffed by [vacant]. Learn more >>

The Mental Health Subcommittee is chaired by Yvonne Smith and staffed by [vacant].

The Rehab Act & IL Funding Subcommittee is co-chaired by Ann McDaniel and Jeff Hughes and staffed by [vacant]. Learn more >>

The Technology Subcommittee is chaired by Susan Tachau and staffed by [vacant].

The Transportation Subcommittee is chaired by Peter Johnke and staffed by [vacant]. Learn more >>

The Voting Rights Subcommittee is co-chaired by Sha’ Anderson and Meg Coffin and staffed by Sarah Blahovec. Learn more >>

The Regional Representatives Committee is chaired by Steve Higgins and staffed by Darrell Lynn Jones. Learn more >>

President’s Task Forces:

The Chronic Pain / Opioids Task Force is chaired by Kristi McGarity and Kate Nicholson. Learn more >>