Regional Representatives Committee

The NCIL Regional Representatives Committee is comprised of 10 NCIL members, one from each Federal Region, who are elected by NCIL members in their respective regions.

The Regional Representative is the pivotal position in NCIL’s communication system with its membership. The Regional Representative is responsible for communicating at least quarterly with NCIL members regarding IL issues and working with any other group interested in pursuing NCIL’s goals within his or her respective region. The Regional Reps will assist the NCIL board and committees in building and coordinating grassroots coalition to advance NCIL’s advocacy activities. The NCIL Regional Representatives will also assist in the recruitment and retention of NCIL members. The regional representatives will disseminate information related to regional or state advocacy efforts to their regional members.

Regional Representatives are elected from among the members within their respective regions. The Regional Representative must reside in the region he or she represents. Elections for Regional Representatives are conducted at-least thirty (30) days prior to the Annual Council Meeting. Regional Representatives elected prior to the Annual Council Meeting take office as soon as the President of the board convenes the new Governing Board of NCIL. The term of office is two (2) years. If a Regional Representative moves out of his or her region of election, then the members of that region will be polled as to the continuing representation of that elected person or the members of that region may call for a new election.

Region 1 Representative: Steve Higgins

  • Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont

Region 2 Representative: Aaron Baier

  • New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Region 3 Representative: Vicki Landers

  • Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia

Region 4 Representative: Edward Mitchell

  • Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee

Region 5 Representative: Vacant

  • Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin

Region 6 Representative: Samantha Moreno

  • Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas

Region 7 Representative: Vacant

  • Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska

Region 8 Representative:  Vacant

  • Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming

Region 9 Representative: Lisa Hayes

  • Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands

Region 10 Representative; Regional Representatives Committee Chair: Kimberly Meck

  • Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington

Membership on this Committee is restricted by NCIL Standard Operating Procedures. This Committee is not open for new members.

Map of NCIL Regions